Headphone Amp: the “Wire” SE-SE

Last year I made few attempts to build a tube headphone amp using DHT’s. For certain reason, I didn’t get the sound that I wished for…and also the  size made me abandon the project.

Browsing DIY Audio site, I was attracted by OPC’s simple design of the “Wire” headphone amp. I’ve never build with SMD’s before and I can say that the soldering was a little challenging. However, Owen’s boards are very well made and everything worked at the first try.

photo 2 photo 1 photo 4 photo 3 photo 5 photo 2 (1) photo 1 (1) photo 4 (1) photo 3 (1)

 

 

I am very happy with the sound of this superb headphone amp. I am using it between my iPad and Sennheiser HD595 and I can tell that my listening experience was brought to a lovely level. The dynamics are excellent, dead quiet, channel separation is amazing, strong base, and very detailed mids and highs.

 

 

Leave a Reply

